“Dairy-Free” Chocolates May Contain Milk

"Dairy-Free" Chocolates May Contain Milk
"Dairy-Free" Chocolates May Contain Milk.

United States – The U. S. Food and Drug Administration suggests consumers to note that some chocolate bars being sold as dairy-free contain milk.

The FDA said that this misleading could pose a risk to those suffering from milk allergy.

Findings from Recent Investigations

In an agency news release, the FDA explained that approximately 13 out of 210 chocolate samples sold in Pennsylvania and Michigan in 2022 and 2023 contained milk, as reported by HealthDay.

The 13 samples were obtained from three food manufacturing companies, as stated by the FDA.

Manufacturers Respond

According to the findings, the FDA stated that two manufacturers have deleted the “dairy-free” label from their chocolate products.

The third manufacturer said that labeling would be discontinued for their products if the reason for the presence of milk could not be identified and excluded, according to the agency.

Investigation Results

In its findings, a preliminary investigation has attributed the presence of milk in these products to the supplier of dark chocolate and not wrongful manufacturing practices as earlier assumed, according to the FDA.

The FDA stated that it does not regulate the use of terms like “dairy-free” or “milk-free,” but any claims used by manufacturers have to be accurate.

Out of those 13 chocolate products identified to be containing milk, all the products contained milk allergen warning statements such as ‘This product was made in a facility that also processes milk’.

Guidance for Consumers

The FDA said that individuals with milk allergies can call chocolate makers and ask how particular goods were produced.

They may also pose a question on whether it is prepared using equipment that comes into contact with milk, whether the constituent components are milk-free, and whether the manufacturer conducts a check to ensure that the product does not contain milk, as reported by HealthDay.